9 areas in NegOcc under Signal#1

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

Nine cities and municipalities in northern Negros Occidental are under Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal #1 due to Typhoon Jolina, as of the 11 a.m. bulletin of the Philippine Atmospheric Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration today, Sept. 7.

These include Cadiz City, Manapla, EB Magalona, Victorias City, Sagay City, Escalante City, Toboso, Calatrava, and Silay City.

The northern portion of Iloilo, including Carles, Estancia, Balasan, Batad, San Dionisio, Concepcion, Sara, Ajuy, Lemery, San Rafael, Barotac Viejo, City of Passi, and Bingawan, and the provinces of Capiz and Aklan are also under TCWS#1.

TCWS #3 is hoisted over extreme southern portion of Quezon, Masbate including Ticao and Burias Islands, the western portion of Albay, the western portion of Sorsogon, the northwestern portion of Samar, the extreme western portion of Northern Samar, and the northern portion of Biliran.

TCWS#2 was hoisted over central and southern portions of Quezon, south-eastern portion of Batangas, western portion of Camarines Norte, western and southern portions of Camarines Sur, Marinduque, the rest of Albay, the rest of Sorsogon, the eastern portion of Romblon; western portion of Northern Samar, Leyte, and the rest of Biliran.

“Jolina” has made landfall over Dimasalang, Masbate and is now traversing over mainland Masbate, the bulletin said.

The typhoon has maximum sustained winds of 120 km/h near the center, gustiness of up to 150 km/h, and central pressure of 990 hPa.

PAG-ASA will issue the next weather bulletin at 2 p.m. today. — CGC